tamara_russo: (Default)
[personal profile] tamara_russo
Oh, boy. We were at my grandparents' house for Hannuka, and the conversation somehow got to us discussing the latest rape story (the officer who tried/succeeded to rape a girl in the TA harbor and fled into the Yarkon), and it developed into an argument - Eyal, my Bro-in-law, who's a lawyer, has very strong opinions about what he calls "the media judging people before they ever saw a judge". Now, I didn't take part in the argument, because i know myself - I feel very strongly about these subjects, about this particular asshole, and I knew I would get upset. At some point I left the room because I had had enough, but I went to talk to my mom who was washing the dishes in the kitchen, because she lets me rant without getting into an argument with me.

My sister takes Eyal's side in these arguments, and when she came into the kitchen she said what she was thinking, and I said what I thought of the matter. She knew that's how I feel, and up until then things were fine. Ive no problem with her thinking differently than I, I've no problem she speaks her mind, and I wasn't offended by anything she said (my grandma is another story, but that's beside the point here).

So anyway, we talked some more, and I got more upset (there was a reason for me leaving the main argument), but then this is what I got from her - and this is a very close quote to what she said, and she used the universal generalization - "I [my sister] look at things with shades of gray, you look at things in black and white, you look at the world like that, and it's the wrong way to look at things".

at that moment I told what she said wasn't acceptable and I left. She tried to tell me goodbye, but I wouldn't, and they left. In the car I explained that to my dad - I explained I've no problem for her to voice opinions that are different than my own (I'd be a hypocrite if I have had a problem with that) but I do not take lightly to her marking the way I see the world as "wrong". She has no right to do that, it's disrespectful and hurtful, and anything but sisterly. To give them the credit, both my parents listened and didn't argue with me, all they said was that she probably didn't mean it so universally. After I explained again they both seemed to understand why I was so upset and didn't pursue the subject.

If I know my mom, she'd probably talk to Michali about it tomorrow. We'll see. All I know now is that I'm pissed.

On another subject - I hope I'll be able to get a glimpse of the meteor shower. I'm heading up to the roof now.

Tags

December 2016

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
1112131415 16 17
18192021222324
25262728293031

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags